top of page

#WorshipWednesday - August 3, 2022

For this week's #WorshipWednesday I wanted to do songs written or performed by women. The Praise and Worship scene is dominated by men and one can even say the church is very male dominated. I believe that women are such an important part of the church, therefore I wanted to highlight their greatest. I hope you enjoy this week's offering for #WorshipWednesday.

Safe (Upper Room Edition)

Moira Dela Torre

This is one of those songs that just unfolds before you. When I first heard this song I just sat with bated breath wondering how it was to unfold, all the while finding myself worshipping along. Perhaps it's the texture of Moira Dela Torre's voice, or her desire to unabashedly worship in how she sings. There is an official version to this song which is, in my honest opinion, not as captivating. Dela Torre's tender vocals just lends itself to the power of this song. It also helps that she was a co-writer.

Never Fail

Vea Lim-Vinas and Vernon Lim

I am a big fan of Bo Sanchez, itinerant preacher and leader of the The Feast/Kerygma movement in the Philippines. I was streaming the conference back in the Fall of 2017 wanting to listen to the preaching of Sanchez and Chris Padgett. This song was the anthem of the conference. It was so nice to hear such a strong and moving offering in this Christian Catholic circle.

Magdalene

Annastasia Brown of Zita's Keys


"Untie these binds Lord, set me free, from these chains, these heavy chains O, I pray

strengthen me lord, my soul thirst for your living water,

say the word and I shall be healed"


This song was written by my dear friend, Annastasia Brown of the songwriting duo Zita's Keys. I was blessed to be a part of the worship band that offered up this song at a youth retreat this past Summer. There I witnessed this beautiful song unfold in corporate worship amongst the youth and servant leaders of the Diocese of San Jose. I also saw my dear friend become overwhelmed by hearing others sing her song for the first time. Music is so powerful! Worship music is even more so, as it helps reveal God's face.





Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page