top of page

#MusicMonday - July 9, 2018

In My Feelings

Drake

In the moment, I’m doing a deep dive into Drake’s new album. I haven’t particularly been a Drake fan outside of the trendy hit that crosses the Top 40 airwaves. With the advent of his new album I decided to see/hear what all the fuss was about. In My Feelings was the first song to capture my eye...err...ear. First off, I love the 808 on this song, it just got me head bobbin’. I am also a sucker for the odd sample that just makes the song...i.e. the haunting shriek in NWA’s “Express Yourself” or the baby cry in Aaliyah’s “Are You That Somebody”. I love how “In My Feelings” samples Magnolia Shorty and just intertwines her vocal with the production.


Fish

Clara C

At first listen, I got the John Mayer “Daughters” vibe but as I heard the song I appreciated more and more Clara C’s voice. She has a nice, pure, and clean voice. Overall, this song is a classic sweet love song. As I read the lyrics I tried to figure out why the song is called Fish, because the word fish is nowhere in the song. I then remembered that Clara is married. I finally got it, her husband’s name is Dan Fisher, hence the name Fish. This is a sweet love song to her life partner, and sweet it is!

High And Dry - Live at the Brecon

Jamie Cullum

High and Dry is originally a Radiohead song, but Jamie Cullum put his own jazz spin on the song in 2002 for his debut album Twentysomething. I love the original song, I love the Cullum cover, and I love this Live at the Brecon version. After hearing this song after so many years, I am reminded of how strong this song is. It still holds up.



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page