top of page

#WorshipWednesday - June 20, 2018

High Above Our Way

Steve Angrisano

Seeing Steve Angrisano live multiple times at various conferences and rallies, I’ve become very familiar with his music. His latest CD surprised me because it does so well in taking his music and style into the current landscape of worship music. It totally hangs. This particular song, High Above Our Way has a country feel to it, but I don’t mind it. As you can tell, I’m not a fan of country music, but the melodies, the lyrics, and the breadth of the song are so well crafted, one can forgive the “countryness”. It’s a strong song that can transcend style.

Build My Life

Housefires

I first heard this song on one of the Passion Conferences’ live CDs. That version was sung by Brett Younker. At first listen, it was just another worship song that didn’t elicit much of a response from me. There are a lot of songs like that, and there are those diamonds in the rough. WHen the song hit the bridge, the diamond revealed itself.

I will build my life upon your love

It is a firm foundation

I will put my trust in you alone

And I will not be shaken

I dug deeper into the song and found that Housefires had originally written the song. The originators of Good Good Father had done it again.

Brokenness Aside

All Sons and Daughters

This song was introduced to me by my friend Bianca Batiancila. She brought it to my attention because she wanted our music ministry to sing it at mass. As we were all learning the song it put a collective lump in our throats as the words just hit so hard:

Will You call me child When I tell you lies 'Cause all I know Is how to cry

'Cause I am a sinner If it's not one thing it's another Caught up in words Tangled in lies But You are a Savior And You take brokenness aside And make it beautiful Beautiful

The beauty of our brokenness is that it makes us vulnerable to the truth and love that Christ is. We are called to be broken to ourselves, our pride, our bravado, our hubris. When we strip it all away we realize our own need for something Greater, and that is the living God of faith, hope, and love.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page