top of page

#WorshipWednesday - June 13, 2018

I’m kicking off a #MusicMonday-type weekly post called #WorshipWednesday today that features worship music that I’m currently digging. In honor of the Diocese of San Jose’s Youth Retreat in Lake Tahoe, Nevada #DYR2018, I’ll feature songs sung/played at the retreat by my Worship band. I was not able to attend this year to lead worship so this is my homage to them.

This is Amazing Grace

I love this live cover version of the Phil Wickham instant classic, This is Amazing Grace. This song, when done right, has a certain energy. It gets you hyped. Chris Cauley and North Point do a great job in their offering of this song.

How He Loves

This John Michael Mcmillan song was popularized by David Crowder and the DCB. At first, I was not very fond of How He Loves. To me there was just a lack of energy. It wasn’t until I was requested to play this song at a High School retreat did I find favor for the song. I was surrounded by a bunch of teens and they just belted out their voices and hearts. That’s when I realized the power of the song. This live version from Passion 2015 captures some of that fire.

The Heart of Worship

For the past 3 years, as Director of Worship we’ve inserted a Throwback Thursday setlist celebrating the classics of worship music. This year the band unanimously decided to revisit the Heart of Worship. It’s a song that’s on most of our Timeless, setlists. Our drummer, John, can’t get through it without shedding a tear. It’s that powerful. This song has a great history and meaning behind it shared by Matt Redman. Do yourself a favor and look up why this song was birthed in the first place.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page